Nevada DMV Teen Requirements
Nevada Teen Driver Laws
To obtain a driver’s license, any new driver under age 18 must:
- Complete a 15-hour driver’s education classroom course (minimum enrollment age is 15). Safe Driving School recommends taking driver’s education prior to taking the written test, as this will help the student pass the written test.
- Young drivers can obtain an instruction (learner’s) permit at age 15½. You must present proof of your identity and Nevada residential address, and a certificate of Attendance (DMV 301) must be completed by the principal or other school official.
- Complete a minimum of 6 hours behind the wheel with a driving school.
- Complete 50 hours of behind the wheel experience. 10 of those hours must be at nighttime.
- Keep a log of the dates and times on the official DMV Beginning Driver Experience Log (Form DLD-130), or on the RoadReady mobile application. Submit the completed form or the printed RoadReady log at the skills test.
- You will receive a certificate of completion. Most insurance companies will give you discounted rates when you present the certificate to your agent.
- Student must be 16 years of age and have held an instruction permit for a minimum of six months.
- Pass the driving skills test.
Prepare for a lifetime of safe driving with our teen drivers education. Pass the Nevada DMV Road Test with Confidence!
We provide classroom lessons, practical driving lessons for teens and students and for the first time in Las Vegas, we are pleased to announce our Virtual Driving simulator to train first time drivers. Learn safe driving skills before you hit the road.
If you have any apprehension or fears about getting behind the wheel, the Virtual Driving Simulator is the choice for you.
Q&A with Our Driving Experts in Las Vegas
Question: Who May Apply For A Learner License?
Answer: Individuals may apply who are at least 15 years of age, meet the regular licensing requirements and have completed the required classroom hours of driver education.